With a customizable video website hosted by SproutVideo, there are some powerful ways to use our privacy features to control access to your videos.
So, which videos will appear on your site?
If a video hosted on SproutVideo is set to private, it will not show up on your video site. It will not be searchable on your site and cannot be discovered by anyone who visits your site. Please see our article on the difference between public and private videos for more information.
Public videos will be displayed on your site and can be viewed by anyone who visits your site.
Login protected videos are hidden from view until someone with access to those videos logs into your video site. After someone logs into your site, all the videos they have access to are displayed, and they can view, search, and discover all videos to which they have been granted access. There is no way for someone to view a login protected video unless they are logged in and have been granted access to that video. People using a login only have to enter it one time to access all the videos they have permission to view. Please refer to our article on login protected videos for more detail.
Password protected videos are displayed on your video site, but cannot be played unless someone enters the password. They are not hidden from view.
Unlisted videos do not appear on the video listing homepage of your video website, and cannot be navigated to if someone does not have the link to the unlisted video landing page. However, someone with a link to the unlisted video can still navigate to your video website and discover other videos.
You can password protect your entire video website. This will make it so that only people with the password will be able to access your video website, or any content within your video site like videos, or other site pages. You can leave your videos set to Public when using a site password, since anyone trying to navigate to a video or to your video site will be prompted for the password before they can access the page.
If you have enabled IP Address Restriction for your SproutVideo hosting account, your video site will not load for anyone who is not originating from an approved network. For anyone connecting to it from an approved IP Address, your video site will load seamlessly.
With SSO enabled for your video site, visitors to your SproutVideo site are redirected to your Identity Provider for authentication. Once authenticated, they are redirected to your video site and your videos will load for authenticated visitors seamlessly. For anyone who is not authenticated, they will not be able to access your video site or videos.
Please refer to our help article on changing the privacy settings of a video for more details.