SproutVideo’s customizable video websites work seamlessly with our video privacy features. Your privacy settings will determine which videos appear on your video website, and how viewers will be able to access them.
If a video hosted on SproutVideo is set to private, it will not show up on your video site. It will not be searchable on your site and cannot be discovered by anyone who visits your site. Private videos are only accessible by viewers if they are embedded on a website hosted by a third party. Please see our article on the difference between public and private videos for more information.
Public videos will be displayed on your site and can be viewed by anyone who visits your site. They can also be indexed by search engines, and can appear in search results for terms related to your video.
If you have site-wide or account-wide security settings in place, such as a site-wide password, IP address restriction, geo whitelist, or single sign-on (SSO), visitors will need to be authenticated before they can access your public videos. Site-wide and account-wide privacy settings take precedence over individual video privacy settings.
Login Protected Videos
Login protected videos are hidden from view until someone with access to those videos logs into your video site. After a viewer logs into your site, all the videos they have access to are displayed, and they can view, search, and discover all videos to which they have been granted access. There is no way for someone to view a login protected video unless they are logged in and have been granted access to that video.
Viewers only have to login once to access all the videos they have permission to view. Please refer to our article on login protected videos for more detail on setting it up.
Password Protected Videos
Password protected videos are displayed on your video site, but cannot be played unless someone enters the password. They are not hidden from view. Visitors to your site can see the poster frame for your password protected videos, and the video title.
Unlisted videos do not appear on the video listing homepage of your video website, and cannot be navigated to if someone does not have the link to the unlisted video landing page. However, someone with a link to the unlisted video can still navigate to your video website and discover other videos.
Password Protected Video Website
You can password protect your entire video website. This will make it so that only people with the password will be able to access your video website, or any content within your video site like videos, or other site pages.
You can leave your videos set to public when using a site password, since anyone trying to navigate to a video or to your video site will be prompted for the password before they can access the page.
IP Address Restriction
If you have enabled IP Address Restriction for your SproutVideo hosting account, your video site will not load for anyone who is not originating from an approved network. For anyone connecting to it from an approved IP Address, your video site will load seamlessly.
Single Sign-On (SSO)
With SSO enabled for your video site, visitors to your SproutVideo site are redirected to your Identity Provider for authentication. Once authenticated, they are redirected to your video site and your videos will load seamlessly. For anyone who is not authenticated, they will not be able to access your video site or videos.
When using SSO for your video website, we typically recommend setting your videos to public. The SSO setting will take precedence, meaning only authenticated viewers will be able to access your public videos.
Please refer to our help article on changing the privacy settings of a video for more details.
Check out these other articles in the Video Websites section: