Private videos can only be seen by you when you are logged into your account. Users merely browsing SproutVideo.com cannot see your Private videos. If you send the link of a Private video to someone and that person clicks on the link and tries to view your video, that person will not be able to see the video. If you are concerned with the Privacy of your videos, you should keep them set to Private. By default, videos are uploaded as Private.
Public videos can be seen by anyone. If you send the link to a public video to someone, that person will be able to click on the link and view the video. While user videos are not showcased on SproutVideo.com and are not actively linked to throughout the site, they are accessible by anyone on the internet. If you are concerned with the privacy of your videos, you should keep them set to Private.
Note: if you embed a Private or Password Protected video on a public webpage or blog, anybody who visits that webpage will be able to see the video. This setting is designed for instances where you do not want the video to appear anywhere else on the internet, or to be password protected when the viewer is not accessing it through your site.